DUI Penalties in Orange County

In California, law enforcement is serious about apprehending and penalizing drunk drivers. If you are arrested for a DUI, you may face severe penalties for your actions. California evaluates the penalties associated with a DUI based on how many times the individual has been convicted of this crime. A driver who has just gotten his first DUI will not face penalties as harsh as a driver who has been convicted of DUIs five previous times.

First Time DUI Penalties

Judges have the authority to use their discretion when issuing DUI penalties, so the following information is not entirely accurate. However, these penalties are typical of a first time offense.

Most first-time DUI offenders face:

  • Four days to six months in jail
  • Fines between $1,400 and $2,600
  • 30 days to 10 months of license suspension
  • Ignition interlock installation
  • Vehicle impoundment

Individuals that refuse a chemical test will face one year of license suspension in addition to other penalties and regardless of the result of the DUI trial.

Second Time DUI Penalties

In California, second time DUI offenders may face:

  • 10 days to 1 year in jail
  • $1800 to $2800 in fines
  • 2 years of license suspension
  • Ignition interlock installation

DUIs in California are sentenced with a look back period of 10 years. This means that if this is your second DUI charge but your first conviction was more than 10 years ago, it will not count against you for sentencing purposes.

Third DUI Penalties

For a third DUI, the penalties are generally as follows:

  • 120 days to 1 year in jail
  • $1800 to $18,000 in fines
  • 3 years of license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device installation

Subsequent DUIs will result in additional penalties, as a result of the habitual pattern of the driver.

Sentence Enhancements in California DUI Cases

If you are arrested for a DUI in Orange County, certain circumstances or situations may result in a sentence enhancement.

You may face an enhanced sentence in California if:

  • Your BAC is 0.15% or higher
  • You were speeding or driving recklessly at the time of arrest
  • Your DUI caused an accident or serious injuries
  • Your DUI caused the death of another individual
  • You put a child endanger by driving drunk with the child under the age of 14 in the car

If you have been arrested for a DUI, call a trusted Orange County DUI lawyer to assist you in your case today. With the right attorney on your side, you may be able to challenge your charges and avoid some of these very serious penalties. Contact Darwish law today for a free initial consultation!